RSS

Another Blogger/WordPress difference

27 May

With Blogger, I got used to tagging my posts to make it easier to find them as part of a category or group. In Blogger, a tag applies only to the blog it’s in. When I click on a tag at the bottom of the post, I get all the posts in that blog that share the tag.

So I started tagging my posts in WordPress. Then, recently, I clicked on a tag on a post and discovered that WordPress tags connect to all the other blogs. Clicking on the tag didn’t show me any of my posts, just posts from other blogs. WordPress “Categories” work more like Blogger tags, linking together related posts within my blog.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 2011/05/27 in blogging, Wordpress vs. Blogger

 

5 responses to “Another Blogger/WordPress difference

  1. Annie Anderson

    2011/08/29 at 00:24

    I realize this is an old post, but the reason WordPress does that with tags on your blog is because it’s hosted on WordPress. Mine does not do that with tags because my blog is hosted on my own domain. That’s the difference. 😉 Unfortunately.

    By the way – came here from Dr. McDougall’s forum. Nice blog from what I’ve read so far.

     
    • Tom

      2011/09/18 at 17:53

      Thanks for visiting and clarifying that point, Annie. And for the compliment.

       
  2. Becky

    2011/09/17 at 11:53

    Your tags are only linked to other blogs if you are using a WordPress hosted blog. If you have one hosted on your own website, that doesn’t happen.

     
    • Tom

      2011/09/18 at 17:55

      Thanks, Becky. I’ve been lazy about moderating comments. As you can see, there’s also a comment from Annie making the same point. So, if you have your blog hosted on your own website, what happens? Do tags on your posts just link to other posts in your blog?

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

       
      • annieanderson

        2011/11/16 at 21:36

        Yes, that’s exactly right, Tom – if you’re blog is hosted on your own domain, tags simply link to posts on your own blog.

         

Leave a Reply

 
